Home Awards The Fossil History Collections Contact Links
Recipient of the 2008 Russell L. Paxton Award

William E. Boys

From the July 2008 issue of The Fossil


President's Report

Guy Miller

Our 2008 Russell L. Paxton Memorial Award recipient William E. Boys needs an introduction only to a sparse few, for he has been active in amateur activities, especially in NAPA affairs, since his entry into ajay in 1963. Even as a busy missionary pastor in Nigeria, Bill kept us informed about his and Ruth's experiences by way of his Boys's Berries, the first issue of which is dated for the winter of 1964-65 and printed on his "formidable, albeit weld-repaired," Kelsey Excelsior 9x13 hand press.

Over the years Bill has also produced Argyled Gargyle, Ingrown Toenail (by multilith), a family journal Ship's Log (which garnered him NAPA's 1967 Honorable Mention printing laureate), and his superbly edited and electronically produced Pennant Bravo.

At the 1968 Ann Arbor convention Bill offered to fill the secretary-treasurer post when incumbent Stan Oliner was elected to the presidency. He currently has performed in that office since 1991. Between times he has served two consecutive terms as NAPA president (1971-73) and as official editor (1975-76).

It would be most difficult for one to cite all the various committees Bill has chaired or been a member of. Almost as tricky is to cite the number of conventions he has hosted or helped organize, but we count at least six, the first being Columbus 1969. Not so incidentally, Bill helped organize the Ohio Amateur Press Guild which saw the publication of several Annuals. The name is still used to designate the group of AAPA and NAPA Ohio members and friends who meet occasionally (and have sponsored AAPA conventions in Mt. Vernon and Cleveland).

Much more could be said, of course, and perhaps the person who presented Bill the Award has said it. Not having had the privilege of being at Townsend myself to present the award, I had delegated the task to Past Fossil President and Secretary-treasurer Gary Bossler—himself a Paxton Award recipient—and an active NAPA member, currently its Historian and formerly its President and several times its Official Editor.

Our thanks once again goes to Fossil John Horn who has underwritten the Russell L. Paxton Award for Service to Amateur Journalism since the award was first instituted by Fossil J. Ed Newman and presented in 1986 to that ajay of all ajays Russell L. Paxton. As we have pointed out in the past, this is not strictly a Fossil Award, but John and J. Ed have given our organization the honor of choosing the recipient and presenting the plaque. We also thank Fossil Past President Lee Hawes (a Paxton Award and Gold Composing Stick recipient) for again agreeing to take on the task of selecting the ajay to be so honored.