South Eastern Amateur Press Association, 1878-1884


The South Eastern A.P.A. was the legitimate successor to the Southern Amateur Press Association. It organized in Hampton, Va., on July 4, 1878, with Thomas J. Hope as the President. The group held 13 semi­annual conventions, the last being in Baltimore in July, 1884. Among its Presidents were such well-known amateurs as Charles W. Darr, of Washington; Joseph M. Salabes, of Baltimore; James Duhamel, of Washington; J. Bascom Sherrill and George W. Carr of North Carolina.


Back to Organizations

Back to Amateur Journalism