Western Amateur Press Association, 1872-1925


A CALL WAS ISSUED for the formation of a Western Association in 1870, the meeting to be held in Cincinnati on July 28. Only six amateurs responded, and no organi­zation was formed. In May, 1872, a few months after the Eastern Association was perfected, the Western A.P.A. was organized in Chicago. Charles S. Diehl, of Chicago, editor of Our Boys, was chosen President. Four conventions were held, the last one in Detroit in July, 1874, and then the Association was allowed to die.


Three years later, however, interest was revived, and resulted in a meeting in Omaha, January 10, 1877, at which Will T. Hall, of Chicago, was elected President, foreshadowing his election as President of the National A.P.A. the following year. The Association then had a long and at times prosperous existence, continuing, with one reorganization meeting in 1882, until 1893. Many noted amateurs served as its President, including C. Clement Chase, Thomas G. Harrison, Frank M. Morris, Henry E. Legler, Frank H. Chamberlain, Will R. Antisdel, John T. Nixon, Howard M. Carter and Edwin B. Swift.


In 1899 it was reorganized at Milwaukee, and continued for five years, its last convention being held on Thanksgiving Day, 1904. It was again revived in 1906, and again in 1925, but its renewed existence was short.


Back to Organizations

Back to Amateur Journalism