History of Early Amateur Journalism in Louisiana


THE AMATEUR JOURNALISTS of Louisiana organized the Pelican Amateur Journalists Association in New Orleans on July 10, 1891, with Thomas 0. Harris as President, Stella Truman, Vice-President, and John T. Nixon, Editor. On October 10 it met in Opelousa and chose John T. Nixon as President and Addie M. Humble, Editor. March 2, 1892, meeting in New Orleans, S. L. White was made President, and Miss Truman, Editor. July 17, 1892, again in Opelousa, Leola B. White was elected President, and S. L. White, Editor. The following December in New Orleans the Association was disbanded.


The amateurs of New Orleans organized, in March, 1873, W. 0. Hart, President; H. S. Douglass, Editor. Another New Orleans club was formed in 1881, with George Keen as President and Will Reese, Editor, and again in 1895 with P. A. Daniel as President.


Amateur journalism began in Louisiana with F. F. Hansell, who issued the Young Pilot in New Orleans in 1872. Next year in New Orleans the Boy of the South was published by H. L. Douglass, and the Crescent City Amateur by W. 0. Hart. New Orleans sent out the New Era, edited by W. E. Dodsworth, in 1876; the Boys' South, William J. Murphy, editor; the Weekly Gazette, W. R. Saffold, editor. Later in New Orleans, Will J. Morgan issued the International in 1880, J. T. DeGrange in 1882 the Times, the Herald published by H. R. Laborisse, the South, edited by John T. Nixon, and in 1890 the Appeal, George A. French, editor. Miss Bland Huddleston of  New Orleans LA 1893was active in 1893. In Patterson in 1896 Nixon and Mrs. Nixon issued Caprice, and in Crowley in 1905 Leaves and Stars and Stripes. In Crowley in 1902 Ora E. Stark published the Scribbler. In Washington in 1892 Addie M. Humble issued Southernwood and Myrtle. In New Orleans in 1905 Lee S. Nelson issued Modern Progress. Much later, in 1932, in Shreveport, James A. Bains published the National Emblem.


Back to States Listing

Back to Amateur Journalism